Turkey workshop

CALL FOR PAPERS: 4th LSE Workshop on Political Economy of Turkey

Event date: 2nd June 2023   Venue: LSE campus and online
New submission deadline: Friday, 3rd March 2023
Orkun Saka (City & LSE/SRC), Lydia Assouad (LSE), Davide Luca (Cambridge & LSE)

European Institute, Systemic Risk Centre and Contemporary Turkish Studies at the London School of Economics and Political Science are jointly organising a workshop on the Political Economy of Turkey. The workshop will be hybrid (at LSE campus & online), and will take place on 2nd June 2023. It will feature around 7 selected presentations, and culminate in a public keynote lecture. The event will provide a platform for researchers and policymakers to discuss new research and to identify areas where further academic and policy-oriented work is needed. Both theoretical and empirical contributions are welcome.

There will be a dedicated discussant for each paper, as well as open floor discussion. Papers are invited on the following (non-exhaustive) list of topics:

  • Exchange rates, bank credit, systemic risks, and debt management
  • The impact of Covid-19 on households and firms
  • Elections, political crises, democracy, and nationalism
  • Political connections, trade, firm performance, and regional inequality 
  • Economics of immigration and demographic transition
  • Educational reforms, family and health policies, and topics in public economics

The workshop features an in-person keynote speech by Professor Sebnem Kalemli-Ozcan (University of Maryland).

There is no registration fee, and we aim to offer a few travel and accommodation support grants for the invited speakersWhile we accept preliminary versions, presenters need to submit full papers.

The submission process has now concluded. The authors will be notified about the acceptance of papers by 15th March 2023.

Programme Committee:

Chris Anderson (LSE)
Lydia Assouad (LSE)

Selim Aytac (Koç)

Melani Cammett (Harvard)

Paul De Grauwe (LSE)

Selva Demiralp (Koç)

Seda Ertaç (Koç)

Selim Gulesci (TCD)

Refet Gurkaynak (Bilkent)

Yaprak Gursoy (LSE) 

Timur Kuran (Duke)

Davide Luca (Cambridge)

Adeel Malik (Oxford)

Berkay Ozcan (LSE)

Orkun Saka (City)