Turkey workshop

3rd LSE Workshop on Political Economy of Turkey

Event date: Friday 3rd September 2021, via Zoom
Time: 12.50 - 17:55 BST (GMT+1)
Orkun Saka (Sussex, LSE & SRC) & Cevat Giray Aksoy (EBRD)

The European Institute and the Systemic Risk Centre at the London School of Economics and Political Science are jointly organising a workshop on Political Economy of Turkey. The workshop provides a platform for researchers and policymakers to discuss new research and to identify areas where further academic and policy-oriented work is needed.

There will be a dedicated discussant for each paper, as well as open floor discussion.

The workshop features a keynote speech by Professor Daron Acemoglu (MIT).

Unfortunately registration has now closed. Thank you for your interest in this event.


*presenting author


Welcome by organisers (Orkun Saka & Cevat G. Aksoy)

Session 1: Nation-building & Legislation | Chaired by Cevat G. Aksoy (EBRD)


The Education Dilemma: Favouring the In-Group or Assimilating the Out-Group

Tugba Bozcaga (Harvard)* & Aslı Cansunar (Oxford)

Discussant: Resul Cesur (UConn) 


Nationalistic Institutions and Propaganda: The Complex Legacy of the "People’s Houses" in Turkey

Lydia Assouad (PSE)*

Discussant: Serkant Adiguzel (Duke)


Deterrence and Compellence in the Parliament

Duha T. Altindag (Auburn)*, Naci H. Mocan (Louisiana) & Jie Zhang (Hunan)

Discussant: Aydogan Ulker (Deakin)


Keynote speech | Professor Daron Acemoglu (MIT)

Chaired by Sule Alan (EUI)


Session 2: Partisanship & Culture in the Economy | Chaired by Orkun Saka (Sussex, LSE & SRC)


Partisan Depositor Responses to a Currency Shock

Xiangyang Gao (Hong Kong), Chen Lin (Hong Kong), Vesa Pursiainen (St.Gallen)* & Yuchen Xu (Peking)

Discussant: Cagatay Bircan (EBRD)


Improving Workplace Climate in Large Corporations

Sule Alan (EUI), Gozde Corekcioglu (Kadir Has)* & Matthias Sutter (Max Planck)

Discussant: Leonie Gerhards (King’s)

Concluding remarks by organisers

Programme Committee:
Cevat Giray Aksoy (EBRD)
Melani Cammett (Harvard)
Paul De Grauwe (LSE)
Selva Demiralp (Koç)
Asli Demirguc-Kunt (WB)
Hülya Eraslan (Rice)
Adeel Malik (Oxford)
Berkay Ozcan (LSE)
Orkun Saka (Sussex, LSE & SRC)