1st LSE Workshop on Political Economy of Turkey - CALL FOR PAPERS


March 12th 2019

Time: TBC   Venue: LSE
Organisers: Orkun Saka (LSE & SRC), Cevat Giray Aksoy (EBRD, LSE & IZA), Davide Luca (GSSI & LSE)

The workshop features a policy panel with participation of Sergei Guriev (Chief Economist of EBRD) and Selin Sayek Böke (Member of Turkish Parliament).


The workshop will provide a platform for researchers and policy makers to discuss new research and to identify areas where further academic and policy-oriented work is needed. Both theoretical and empirical contributions are welcome.

There will be a dedicated discussant for each paper, as well as open floor discussion. Papers are invited on the following (non-exhaustive) list of topics:
• Capital markets governance, bank credit, systemic risks and debt management
• Trade and firm performance
• Political crises, democracy and nationalism
• Economics of immigration
• Educational reforms, family and health policies, and topics in public economics

Registration: There is no registration fee. An invitation-only conference dinner will be hosted on 12 March 2019.
Expenses: The organisers are not able to cover travel and accommodation costs of participation to the workshop.
Submission: To submit a paper (full papers accepted only – preliminary versions also welcome), please send an email to Orkun Saka at o.saka@lse.ac.uk. In the subject header please add “Submission: Workshop on Political Economy of Turkey”. In the case of multiple-authored papers, indicate who will present and whether or not the presenter would also be willing to act as a discussant.
Deadline and results: The deadline for the submission of papers is 18th January 2019. The authors will be notified about the acceptance of papers by 25th January 2019.

Programme Committee:
Cevat Giray Aksoy (EBRD, London School of Economics & IZA) Sina Ates (Federal Reserve Board)
Cagatay Bircan (EBRD)
Paul De Grauwe (London School of Economics & CEPR)
Şebnem Kalemli-Özcan (University of Maryland, NBER & CEPR)
Berkay Ozcan (London School of Economics)
Erdal Tekin (American University, IZA & NBER)
Melani Cammett (Harvard University)
Selim Gulesci (Bocconi University & CEPR)
Davide Luca (GSSI & London School of Economics)
Orkun Saka (Systemic Risk Centre, London School of Economics)
Waltraud Schelkle (London School of Economics)

The event is co-hosted with the European Institute and the Contemporary Turkish Studies at the London School of Economics and Political Science.